Macbook as a Desktop Computer

As stated in the last post, I just got my new Macbook, and I’ve been toying around with it a lot over the weekend.  In fact, today I went to Best Buy and Picked up a Mini-DVI to VGA adapter for my Macbook so I could use it as a desktop replacement while I’m home.  Boy, did I get a shock.

I felt like I had caged my Macbook.  I had hooked up a separate mouse and keyboard too, so I was interacting with it completely remotely, which made me feel like I’d somehow violated it.  Like I was using it for the processing power, rather than the portability, and aesthetics it was designed for.  Sort of like using a woman for her looks, but not her brains…but in reverse.  It just felt so wrong.

I didn’t have many problems getting the setup to work.  It took me a little while to figure out that, to get the external monitor to act as the main monitor, I had to turn on the Macbook, and close the lid immediately.  Otherwise, it would just treat the external monitor as a secondary screen.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s really cool having two monitors running off the same computer, but that’s not what I was going for this time around.  I’m not sure I’d want to in the future, either.  It would just be another way to lock down the Macbook to a stationary existence.  I might toy with that a little more in the future, but I don’t expect it to be a regular thing.

I have no doubt that the Macbook would have made a great Desktop replacement.  As I mentioned before, it runs World of Warcraft a hell of a lot smother than the Desktop I have now.  However, I think I like the portability too much to just set it aside, and use it like a computer tower.

I wish the weekend was longer, so I could keep experimenting.  I learn something new almost every time I turn on the laptop.  I’m really liking OS X so far.

2 thoughts on “Macbook as a Desktop Computer

  1. I wouldn’t feel too guilty. part of the beauty of macs is that they are useful for so many different situations. Personally, I like dual screen because I like being able to see multiple applications at once.

Leave a Reply

