Listening To Audiobooks

In my new job, I’m free to listen to anything I want while I work.  With this freedom, I listen to podcasts and audiobooks.  Specifically, I tend to listen to Fantasy and Urban Fantasy audiobooks (and tech podcasts, but that’s not important right now).  So, I’ve decided to post a bit about each book and/or series I’ve listened to in the past few months.  I have a very specific sort of perspective on these books, which might turn out to be helpful for some people looking for good material.

I’m not going to post long reviews of all these books.  I’ll lay out a general foundation of my perspective here, then present more brief but specific impressions of the material in separate posts.

First, and possibly most importantly, I’m listening to most of this material in audiobook form.  My impression of these books is going to be heavily influenced by the person reading them.  A phenomenal book with a bad narrator is a bad audiobook.  I wish that weren’t true, but it is.

Second, I tend to listen a little more to Urban Fantasy than general Fantasy.  I like general fantasy, but it’s sometimes hard to get into.  I’ll be posting about both, but don’t be surprised if there’s more Urban Fantasy than anything else.

Third, Urban Fantasy tends to be dominated by female authors.  There are a lot of reasons for this, but those reasons aren’t important here.  What is important here is that I am Male, and I come at this material from a Male perspective.  I enjoy many books with female protagonists, but I get agitated when that perspective isn’t properly explained.

Fourth, I’m not a big fan of the modern Urban Fantasy trend to romanticize vampires and werewolves.  Paranormal Romance is a genre all on its own, and I try to avoid it.

Lastly, I don’t often listen to books that stand alone.  I can listen to a book all day long, so I’m perfectly capable of getting through one book in a day.  I like being able to look forward to the next book.  Also, the longer a series is, the more connected I become with the characters, and thus the more emotionally impactful each book can be in the long run.

P.S. Don’t even ask about unabridged VS abridged.  There’s no question.  One is the book, the other is the slaughtered remains of a book.

Leave a Reply

