I had quite a few false starts with the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson.  The first book starts with a slave owner talking to a government official about how he treats his slaves…”badly” is an understatement.  I’d grit my teeth, and try to put up with it till the point in the book where a group of slaves listens to one of their number being taken away, screaming at the top of her lungs, because she knows exactly what the slave owner wants her for…  At that point, I’d stop listening.

Which is too bad, because had I simply listened a little longer, I’d have learned that the girl got saved, the slave owner got slaughtered, and his house set on fire by a wandering “hero” character.  At that point, and ever after, the series is much more enjoyable.

The series gets significantly more complex and epic with each book.  The first book could easily stand on its own, despite the somewhat open ending, but the following books ad a lot of interesting perspective to the events in the first book, and end up taking the series in a direction I wasn’t expecting.

This was an awesome series to listen to.  Brandon Sanderson has written another book in the series that takes place hundreds of years later, but it won’t come out for a couple more months.  The original story is wrapped up pretty tight, but another story in the same universe could still be interesting.  I’m looking forward to it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s