The Way of Kings

The Way of Kings is epic awesomeness.  It is, without a doubt, the best book I’ve listened to since…the last Brandon Sanderson book I listened to; maybe even before that.  I don’t know if I can express how much I enjoyed this book.

The audiobook for The Way of Kings is forty-five hours and thirty seven minutes long.  The book itself is easily over a thousand pages.  It’s so long, that audible.com requires you to spend two credits on this one book (and they only required one for Name of the Wind).  I loved nearly every minute of it.  I’ve slogged through more filler material in three hundred page books than were in this entire epic tome.  This book earns its length.  The only problem is that this is just the first book in a potential series.  While the ending is undeniably satisfying, it still left a lot of loose ends.  I want the next book, and I’m slightly miffed that Brandon Sanderson is coming out with another Mistborn book before continuing this series (though I suppose I understand needing to come back at it with a fresh perspective).

The narrators for the audiobook do a great job.  I honestly have no complains at all, which is the best praise I can give audiobook narrators.  When an audiobook narrator is doing his or her job well, they become transparent windows through which the story is presented to you.  A bad narrator presents a fuzzy window; they require you to reinterpret what you heard.  That’s not the case here.  The narrators for this book are Kate Reading (who did the Codex Alera by Jim Butcher) and Michael Kramer (who did Mistborn; the aforementioned previous series by Brandon Sanderson).

Unlike in The Kane Chronicles, the two different narrators weren’t at all distracting.  The characters these different narrators portray are almost never in the same place, so you don’t get two different auditory interpretations of the same things.  There was one instance where the female narrator did a voice for a character in the male narrator’s territory (for lack of a better term), but it was so well done that I honestly had to listen to that part again just now to make sure it happened.  It was so transparent, that I couldn’t remember well enough to be sure.

I initially put off getting this book because it required two credits on audible.com; I couldn’t have been more wrong for doing that.  There is absolutely no question that this book was more than worth it; in fact, I’m embarrassed that I slogged through cheaper books before getting this one.  I loved this book, and I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys epic fantasy.

Leave a Reply

